Why such small TP and big SL ?

Discuss anything about ForexRealProfitEA here

Why such small TP and big SL ?

Postby wiptheman » Wed Aug 22, 2012 9:04 am

Hi Guys,

I have been testing your EA for several months on test accounts and live accounts. The outcome is quite positive with more or less 9% return in two months on the live account but I was wondering why are the SL so big and the TP so small ?

Have you ever tested the EA with tighter SL and bigger TPs ?? :D
wiptheman
Rookie

Re: Why such small TP and big SL ?

Postby Support_AdrianS » Wed Aug 22, 2012 10:10 am

Dear wiptheman,

From our real and demo accounts statements,
the Average win is 5.5 pips and the Average Loss is -7.2 pips for FRPEA version 5 (Risk / Reward = 1.41)
and the Average win is 7.37 pips and the Average Loss is -13.59 pips for FRPEA version 6 (Risk / Reward = 1.84).

The Stop Loss defines the maximum value in pips when the robot will close a losing position. Our robots use a dynamic Stop Loss algorithm and most of the trades are closed at a lower loss than the maximum Stop Loss permitted.
Same story for the Take Profit.

Those values were optimized for the last 5 years of backtesting on tick data.

What is more important after all, to lose less on a bad trade or to win more on longer term?

Even if it seems strange, a lower Stop Loss generates a higher Maximum Draw Down and that is more dangerous and could result in blowing up the account.

I know that nobody likes to lose, but loss is part of the trading and cannot be avoided. The most important thing is to win more than you lose on longer term.

Kind regards,
Adrian.
ForexRealProfitEA Team
Support_AdrianS

Postby zaff » Wed Oct 10, 2012 11:07 pm

i understand your statement but i've seen several times that the bot closes the trades too early resulting on loosing positions, even if later the trend goes to the tp level.
why is it closing that fast? thanks (you can take as example today's eur/usd sell trade (10/10/2012)
zaff
Beginner